The loss of a friend

Today my family lost our friend Bear. He was a six pound Pomeranian mix on the outside but I fully believe that on the inside he thought that he was a 150 pound Great Pyrenees.

Bear was our source of comedic relief throughout the past 13 years. He was sassy, spirited, and had the oddest habits. He couldn’t go through a door unless it was all the way open for him and even if it was wide enough that he could fit through, he would bark until you opened it wider. I guess this was because his personalty was so large he needed the extra space. He also had a ritual where he would bark at his kibble and “kill” it before he could eat, everyday for 13 years.

Bear was also notorious for faking injuries or making situations seem much worse. A few of my friends were tossing a football in the yard one day and one of them bumped into Bear and for years afterward he’d begin limping again with his old “football injury” even though the vet had said everything looked okay. I often think Bear did this so he could have extra cuddles and attention from his favourite person in the world, my mom. Bear had a special spot reserved just for him right next to her for his entire life and if anyone stood in his way he’d chase them.

Bear hated cats as well as any rodents and wasn’t afraid to tell them that he was the boss of every household. The thing that Bear seemed to forget is that a couple of years ago he had all of his teeth removed so the most damage he could inflict on someone would be to gum them to death.

Not only was Bear a little spitfire, he was also very sweet. The first time I came home after not seeing him for a few months, Bear whined and cried for me as I was leaving again. He didn’t want me to go. He loved everyone, especially the neighbourhood kids. Bear also loved getting haircuts and would prance around for days afterward so proud of his new look.

It feels like we watched Bear go from a puppy to an old man over night. The hardest part about having pets is saying goodbye to them at the end of their lives. I keep thinking about the fact that I’ll never see his sweet face and little wiggle bum again and it takes the air out of my lungs. He was such a crucial part of my childhood and my adulthood. I will miss him every time I walk into my parent’s home.1558375_10155440097800374_436566899794218944_n

Bear with his head on my lap.
Bear with his head on my lap.
Published by

mkeheckbert

My name is Mackenzie, but almost everyone calls me Mack. I started writing when I was in the fifth grade after I finished reading the first 3 installments of the Harry Potter saga. I'm now 25 and have yet to do anything lasting with my talent, so I present to you Ordinary, Average, Everyday. I'm partial to fiction but also love a good opinion piece. You will frequently see the elements of animals, nature, and music on this blog. I will also chat about life in my twenties as a (new) dog groomer. Please read my first post "Likely, a lengthy description" for more information on the creation of this blog.

3 thoughts on “The loss of a friend”

  1. Hi to my sad PEI family on the loss of ‘Bear’, their little 13 year old Pomeranian mix . Everyone loved Bear and that certainly included me. I’m glad I was able to get from Alberta to N.B. and then lastly to Charlottetown as often as I did to see my family and their pets. Bear always seemed to remember you, but he was definitely Melanie’s dog! We’re so lucky to have these little animals come into our lives. Dax was probably waiting at the Pearly Gates in Pet Heaven for Bear – I hope he opened the Gates wide enough so Bear could get in! RIP, beloved little pet.

    Love, Nanny

    Like

  2. I love my little friend and when he was young we would play every night he would chase my hand around the be a bit me as he could and when Mom (Mel) would join in he wouldn’t bit her. In fact she could pull his fir or do something to annoy him and he would still bit me. He love his Mom but would always come to me when he did to be fixed like when he hurt his leg playing football, got sleep stuck in his eye or poop on his butt I guess I was his personal Vet. I miss this little guy and his big sister Dax.

    Tom (Mackenzie’s Dad0

    Like

Leave a Reply

